The Charnel-House

Untitled

.
Image: This threesome brought
to you by the letter «А» (1931)

untitled2

UPDATE: Apparently it was Giuliano Vivaldi behind the whole rumor that this collection was intended to „combat adult illiteracy,“ as I put it here. He wrote: „I copied this from someone’s wall and added with a few exclamation marks that it was part of Stalin’s fight against illiteracy (joke intended). Since then my joke was cited as fact and traveled the internet.“

Consider me trolled! Still prefer to think of it having been conceived for that purpose.

Reproduced here are a bunch of scans from a fascinating erotic alphabet book printed in the Soviet Union circa 1931, made to combat adult illiteracy. By the sculptor and future People’s Artist of the USSR Sergei Merkurov [Сергей Меркуров], no less. For those of you who enjoyed my previous post on classic Soviet board-games from the 1920s, this…

View original post 315 more words